Saturn and Jupiter

14 Posts
3 Users
8 Likes
Terri Zittritsch
(@terri)
Member - Treasurer
Topic starter  

I'm a newbie at planetary imaging, here are some tries from this month on Jupiter and Saturn.    Seeing doesn't seem to be great, at 5600mm no matter what Astrospheric says.   

Using Astrostakkert and Registax wavelets.

This topic was modified 2 years ago 3 times by Terri Zittritsch

Terri Zittritsch
(@terri)
Member - Treasurer
Topic starter  

I captured a couple of images tonight before clouds rolled in.. one of them of Saturn isn't too bad.   Still lots to figure out.

Shot with Edge 1100HD scope, no barlow, ASI224MC camera.

Terri

ReplyQuote
Terri Zittritsch
(@terri)
Member - Treasurer
Topic starter  

I shot some images on 9/3, only this time I used the TEC140 with stacked extenders.   I used a 2X Powermate stacked with a Televue 2x barlow to create an F28 scope.   The seeing had it's moments.    I'm seeing just how sensitive that seeing is to getting detail, I'm also seeing the affect of different focal lengths.  I'm using a color camera, ASi224MC with 3.75um pixels, which isn't great.    I'd do better with a mono camera and a filter wheel.   When I shot at only 2X, my stacks look ok but trying to get fine detail was difficult.  I was getting all kinds of false artifacts.   I needed the 4X to just get the details large enough to record accurately on my 3.75um pixels.     You can decide.    

ReplyQuote
Paul Walker
(@pwalker)
Estimable Member Admin

They look darn good to me!  It apparently was a steady night over a fairly large area. You can compare them to my images taken the same night. Evening of 9/2/2022 and morning of 9/3/2022.